Disappointment

Turnier der Meister 2006, Gymnastics World Cup...
Image via Wikipedia

“The size of your success is measured by the strength of your desire; the size of your dream; and how you handle disappointment along the way.”

 – Robert Kiyosaki

I wanted so bad to compete in this year in Brazilian Jiujitsu, but it doesn’t look like that is going to happen, injuries and life had other plans for me. This is the way things go, you have to be ready for disappointment, then you have to be able to get back up and punch life right back in the mouth.

Yeah a violent reference, but if you are not ready to get up and fight for the things that inspire you, that you strive to achieve, and you desire to have in your life.

Today is March 8, 2010.  I am going to be sure that I handle my disappointments, I answer for them, and I respond accordingly. That is something that I haven’t done lately and I really let life get me down about it.

Being 24 and will be 25 by the end of the year, wanting to compete in the sports I am so passionate about that are knowingly young men’s sports, I could not help but feel as though I was losing ground.

You to be the best, you have to beat the best. I want to face the Marcelo Garicas and Roger Gracies. I want the chance to at least lose to them on the mats in competition and not be a gawking fanatic. I am a passionate competitor. I hope to train so that I can display just that passion.

Today, I was reminded of that passion.

The most dominant brazilian jiujitsu competitor in modern competition, Roger Gracie.

I was reminded of that drive that separates and the ties that bind us.

This is what defines us.

The how we stand back up in the face of adversities.

The act of suffering, the enduring the suffering, and the conquering of self.

This will be my place, to hold myself accountable and remind me of who I am.

Where I am going.

What I owe to the world.

What I am responsible for.

That I will save for discussing another time, but tonight…

I bid adieu.

Marcelo Garcia being hoisted by his coach Fabio Gurgel.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

